NaNoWriMo Break – Sesame Street

I’m sure you are all tired of NaNoWriMo talk. I am too. I’m at 7,802 words as of last night (only 200 off my goal) and I feel like there is a very real chance I won’t survive the month. 🙂

So, something different. Did you know Sesame Street is celebrating its 40th birthday? If you go to google.comthey have been displaying Sesame Street themed headings this week. Pretty cool.

Even better, Sesame Street is having a vote on the “Best Sesame Street Ever!” and allowing people to vote on their favorite segments of each decade. Right now it’s The ’80s. Even better is Grover’s intros. I love Grover, even though he was The Monster at the End of This Book.

Be careful though, NaNo’ers. You could waste some good writing time over there. 🙂

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Break – Sesame Street

  1. I don’t know if I remember any of my favorite segments, but I heart Oscar the Grouch.

    Mu husband loves the Cookie Monster and credits Cookie Monster with his love for heavy metal music. I think it’s all the growling.

    I’m not sick of NaNo talk. I need it to keep me going. I just got two NaNo pep talks in my email and they worked. I’m writing like a mad woman right now!

  2. I had no idea that was the reason for the Sesame Street characters on the google home page. Interesting. I loved Sesame Street when I was growing up. I don’t know that I remember any particular segments though. I’ll have to think about it.

  3. I loved Sesame Street when I was a kid, unfortunately my kids have failed to share in my enthuisiam just like so many other things.

    congrats on the word count.

  4. I LOVED the Monster at the End of this Book! I remember having my mom read that to me over and over!

    I don’t remember watching Sesame Street as a kid – although my mom promises that we did – but when I was in high school a friend had a baby, so senior year we sat around with her and watched it. We used to quote it all the time, especially Grover’s Near…(pant pant pant), Far.

    She was my friend that recently died. Some good memories there. Thanks for the reminder!

  5. One can only assume that you speak from wisdom and understanding…

    “Be careful though, NaNo’ers. You could waste some good writing time over there. ”

    Besides, you will make it through the month, just keep those fingers moving and you will be alright 🙂

Leave a Reply

