If Love is a Battlefield, What is Writing?

If love is a battlefield, what is writing? A pain in the neck? A gift from God? A bologna sandwhich?

I don’t really know. One thing I do know is that writing a novel is very difficult. The good news is the more you do it the easier it gets. As long as you don’t give up. And as long as you don’t mind throwing away, or at least putting aside, the first few 100k words you write.

I also know that I’ve already written more words this month (13,637) than I’ve written in all the other months of this year combined. I got 2,000 or so words written yesterday, which doesn’t catch me up to where I need to be, but does get me on the right track.

As eveybody knows, Sesame Street is 40 years old. Here’s a clip I particularly enjoy. Elmo and Robert DiNero (for real).

6 thoughts on “If Love is a Battlefield, What is Writing?

  1. Well let’s just say up front that it most often isn’t nearly as satisfying as a bologna sandwhich, and depending on the bread, almost always much harder. You’re doing great. it’s so cool to know that all of us are in our little houses all over the world, trying to do this strange thing called write a novel. I spent all day goofing off (piles of papers to grade..and writing to do) and then I came home and did all the stuff I needed to do, and then when everyone had gone to bed, I sat down and wrote 2500 words. What the?! It’s amazing. I never would have done that before, without Nano, and my writing is really important to me. But, I always relegate it to this “special last place” caste wherein I have to have ample time and quietude and blah blah blah. Nano has shown me I need to write no matter what, and it doesn’t have to be in a rareified setting. It’s changing my habits and my attitude toward this work, and in doing so, I’m doing a heck of a lot more of what I want to do, write.

Leave a Reply

