NaNoWriMo Complete – Where Do I Go From Here

So I survived NaNoWriMo, but just barely. Having kids and a full time job, I was mostly writing in the evenings, usually up until midnight. Then up a few times in the middle of the night from the 9 month old, and of course up at 6:30 for work, on weekends from the kids. That wore on me a bit right around the beginning of the month. I was too stubborn, and had too many cheerleaders (literally πŸ™‚ ), to quit. I doubt I’ll be doing it again next year. I figure three wins is enough for me. Of course I said the same thing last year.

So, I’m taking a week off from writing to relax. I hope to read some books, watch some movies, and go to bed at a reasonable time. It was funny, last night my wife asked me if I was coming up to bed and I said yes and she almost fell over. In November, she would ask, I would say no, she would plead with me, and then finally give up. It’s nice to not have to do that this month.

As far as the novel I wrote goes, I’m not sure yet. There are some good parts, but I’m having a hard time getting excited about it. I’m not deleting it yet, though.

So what did I learn this year? Well, I learned it is hard to write a lot everyday when you aren’t used to it, but once you set up a pattern, it gets easier. It’s kinda like exercise or working out. Those first couple days lifting weights after taking some time off are terribly painful, but once you start it gets easier. Of course, if you stop for any length of time you are back to square one.

I also learned that I need a better plan when I’m starting a novel. I did some planning before this one (see all my posts from October) but I really did need more. A novel is just too big of a thing for me to wing it.

Finally, I learned that I can write every day. I have the time. I don’t have a lot of time, but I have enough. I need to use it.

So, I may never do NaNoWriMo again, but I am planning something better. I hope starting next week to write 500 words a day all year. I haven’t decided yet if that will be five days a week or seven. This is very doable and should be a fun challenge. I call it NaNoWriYe (National Novel Writing Year).

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Complete – Where Do I Go From Here

  1. I think 500 words a day is a good goal. I may have to copy you on this one. I would probably do 5 days a week. I wouldn’t want to say 7 days and then fail early on. Writing 5 days a week would be more than I wrote before NaNo so it would definitely be an improvement.

  2. Congratulations on getting through NaNoWriMo. It’s an amazing achievement given all your other commitments. I think your new regime sounds just the ticket but I hope you have factored your daily blog posts into the equation πŸ™‚

  3. I’m just so incredibly impressed by this! Good for you!!! And I think 500 words a day is a perfectly reasonable amount of writing. It seems to me that it allows for the kind of planning and reflection you can’t really give yourself during November. I’m looking forward to seeing how this goes. xo

  4. Congratulations!!! That’s fantastic!

    Yep, like exercise. I can’t take more than a day or two off in a row either. I’ve found that 1,000wds a day for me is a comfortable pace, and I can maintain that easily and still take a day or two off each week to take a break or work on other projects.

    Congrats again and enjoy your week!

Leave a Reply

