I Love Improv Everywhere

First of all, here’s a snowman I created in Photoshop around this time last year.  He’s so cute I had to post him again.

Next, have you heard of Improv Everywhere? According to their website “Improv Everywhere causes scenes of chaos and joy in public places.” I have been a big fan of their for a long time. For their latest project they got a 13 member handbell choir to accompany an unwitting Salvation Army bell ringer.  Their stated goal for this project in their own words:

“Our goal with this mission wasn’t to make any sort of statement about the Salvation Army (an organization that I’m sure does lots of great charitable work, but also is not without controversy), but to create an awesome moment for one bell ringer and the random New Yorkers and tourists who happened to be in the right place at the right time.”

Check out a small video of their stunt here and then head over to their blog post for a more thorough description of the event. This brought a big smile to my face and hopefully it will bring one to yours as well.

5 thoughts on “I Love Improv Everywhere

  1. OMG– This is the second clip I totally want to steal from your blog. (regina spector was the 1st). So cool! I love them too. If i wasn’t so lame, and lazy, and if I was more connected to tons of people I’d totally want to form my own “Force Of Prankish Awesomeness”.

  2. That is AWESOME! I’ve heard of them before, but haven’t actually seen any clips of them. I love the snowman. I remember him from last year. He is super cute 🙂

  3. I did like the look on the original guy’s face and I was surprised that the guy working at the store looked like he was ready to bust @ss. Same with the cop.

    I was also surprised that they didn’t seem to rake in the money after a performance like that. Still cool, I like those Improv folks. Did you see the one in the train station when they sang a Julie Andrew’s song? That was very cool.

Leave a Reply

