This and That

Have you ever been busy but when you look back you can’t really remember what exactly you’ve been busy doing? I guess that’s me lately.

Let’s see. I’ve been playing a bit more hockey than usual. Three games in seven days. That’s not a terrible amount, but is more than my body is used to. What doesn’t help is that most of our players (college age guys) were on spring break so in two of the games I got A LOT of ice time.Β  Really improved my skating, but this old man is a bit sore.

What else? Hmm. Doing stuff with the kids, I guess. My daughter has a bit of a cough and head cold, but that doesn’t slow her down in the waking hours. She’s been making picture books, which we help with a little bit (she asks us how to spell a word and then she writes it), and really taken a liking to Strawberry Shortcake (Strawberry Shortcake: Happily Ever After, a really cute story which has been the subject of our dinner conversations and the aforementioned books). I think we’re finally exiting the “terrible twos” days. She’ll be four in May.

The son, is enjoying his one-year-old-ness, getting into everything and walking around bumping his head on things, like all healthy one year olds do. He hasn’t said a lot of words yet, but I think he’s close. He also has his first tooth poking out of his bottom gums.

I haven’t done much writing although I do have a new novel idea (finally). Been thinking about that a lot lately and hope to begin writing soon. If I ever get the time. Meaning, if I even stop wasting time on the internet. πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “This and That

  1. You and me both, Paul! I have this program, Mac Freedom, that disables my internet. Too bad I don’t use it more often… πŸ˜‰

    Life is never busier than when the kids are that age. It’s great…and exhausting. I hope you enjoy some time to relax (and work on that novel!). πŸ™‚

  2. It is so easy to waste time on the internet. And I have little to no self control when it comes to blogging/surfing the web.

    Good luck writing the new novel. Hopefully things will slow down a little so you can have plenty of time to write.

  3. I always feel like that, like I’ve been busy, but there doesn’t seem to be anything that I can point to and claim as an accomplishment. So what the heck was I so busy doing, if nothing good is done?

    Enjoy this time with your kids; my son is about to turn 14 and I can’t believe we only have 4 whole school years left before college. Before kids start school, time goes very slowly, in elementary school it flows along at a nice pace, in middle school it really starts to pick up speed (8th grade going by twice as fast as 6th), so I’m starting to fear the next four years will just fly by.

    I’m glad you have a new novel idea. I like that kindling sort of feeling, when I new idea comes along, and material starts to gather around it, and crackles with possibilities to be explored.

  4. You have GOT to stop talking about yourself like you’re old. It’s making me feel ancient!!

    Glad you’ve got some stories running around in your head. Family comes first… that’s so fleeting when the kids are young… but it’s good to get a hold of that dream and keep it close.

  5. Oh Strawberry. Our library has five or six of those DVDs and we view them quite a bit. I have to admit, I do like most of the songs that come from those movies. This particular movie must be newer since I’ve never heard of it.

    That’s right, if *I* haven’t heard of it, it has to be new. The reviews at Amazon said the voices sort of grate on one’s nerves. Is that the case?

    My oldest kid started the terrible twos at 18 months and was almost finished with them around four. It sucked.

  6. A) – You are NOT old! And you’re playing hockey etc! So you’re right in there dude.

    B)- The ideas will still be there when you have more time

    C)- Have you ever tried “Dr. Wicked’s write or die”? I know a couple writer’s who use it. It’s kind of like sprinting I guess.

  7. Your daughter sounds like a chip off the old block! She’ll be writing novels too before you know it. Looking forward to reading more of your writing in the near future – although with your hectic life, it must be hard to find quiet ‘me’ time.

    Having said that, I agree with what has been written above, make the most of these years with your kids, it truly doesn’t seem 5 minutes since my boys were at the same stage – and now here is my eldest, 27 tomorrow. Eeeek! When did that happen?

Leave a Reply

