Writers Colonies

Nova Ren Suma, author of tween novel Dani Noir had a very interesting article yesterday on the subject of writers colonies.  In a few weeks, you see, Nova will be heading off to a writers colony called Yado.  I ask all of you writers out there to take a moment and read her post. It’s very good and will most likely give you a little writing energy boost. It did me, anyway.

What is a writers colony you ask? Basically it’s a place you can go anywhere from a month to over a month and live there on a beautiful grounds and just write.  Some cost money, and some don’t. Most have an application process to get in. Most have Internet restrictions (I think), and at least some provide meals for the writers while in residence (hence the fee).

I have to admit this is a very romantic idea, to be able to go somewhere away from it all and just write. It is almost magical to think about, really. I doubt I’ll ever be able to do it, what with the kids and the full time job, but you never know. I just thought I’d share it with you all because I thought her post was great and also because maybe one of you would find the information useful.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Writers Colonies

  1. Oh my gosh. I’d love that. And the fact that it’s not just writers is awesome! I like the idea of writer’s retreats, except for the expense and surrounding myself with other writers pounding their heads against the wall too. But being around other musicians and artists and getting all sorts of outside creative inspiration just sounds lovely. Part of what I miss about being in school sometimes.

  2. Thanks for the link Struggling!
    There is one here, well, it’s a retreat that combines artists/writers with scientists. (!) Isn’t that a concept! It’s at the former estate of the guy who supposedly invented puffed wheat, and has secret passageways etc to thwart puffed wheat secret recipe stealing spies. Is that a hoot or what? (I once took a tour)
    Fun to dream about, but probably not in my future either. 🙂

Leave a Reply

