Robert Culp

If it’s trouble you’re looking for, you’ve just come across the West Coast distributor.” – Bill Maxwell from Greatest American Hero

Actor Robert Culp died yesterday at the age of 79, after falling near his California home. Mr. Culp played FBI agent Bill Maxwell in Greatest American Hero, one of my favorite shows of my childhood. His role was mentor and straight man in the show, tasked with trying to help the title character with his super hero costume and his search for the instruction manual on how to use it.

He also had a more recent role as Raymond’s father in law in Everybody Loves Raymond, which made me happy. It made me even happier that Katherine Helmond (Mona from Who’s the Boss) played his ex-wife in the show.

Anyway, it always feels a bit funny to me, being sad when a celebrity dies. It’s not like I knew the guy, although it in a way I did. Or, at least I knew his character Bill Maxwell who I suppose died in a way yesterday as well.  I don’t know.

What I do know is there’s a pretty good chance I’m gonna pop my Greatest American Hero DVD into the old player tonight in honor of Robert Culp.

Note: Another favorite show of mine was Dukes of Hazard, but don’t hold that against me. After all, I was 5 and it was about car chases and guys yelling “ye haw!”)

5 thoughts on “Robert Culp

  1. Here’s to Robert Culp! I never watched The Great American Hero, but I love Everyone Loves Raymond. And, by the way, I like Dukes of Hazzard too, but I was more like twelve when it was on. Do you think that means I was an odd adolescent girl?????

  2. Isn’t that strange how you can feel sort of connected to a celebrity and then feel sad when he or she dies. I always feel weird about that and then wonder if the person was a real a-hole in his or her private life.

    Cynical, eh?

  3. I always liked him too, even though I don’t have any specific memories of watching him regularly. I was too young for I spy, and too old for hero, but he seemed smart alecy, and that’s a quality I can get behind.

Leave a Reply

