I’m not sayin’, I’m just sayin’

The political discourse in this country is screwed. It has been for some time.ย  It’s sad really, because there really does need to be a dialogue and a discussion of ideas in order for the best solution of a problem to be achieved.

I’m a registered Democrat. Not because I’m all that enamored by them, but because right now but they are at least not insane and some of them are at least they are attempting some good things (such as providing health care to all Americans). Meanwhile, the Republicans are critiquing logos.

On Fox and Friends, on the Fox News Network, they “discussed” the logo at President Obama’s Nuclear Security Summit and how it resembled the crescent moon you see on the flags of Muslim countries, all the while ignoring what the logo was actually supposed to resemble: Bohr’s Model of the Hydrogen Atom.

I don’t expect you to watch the Fox and Friends segment, because my head nearly exploded when I watched it. Luckily, the Daily Show covered it last night.
John Stewart:

Yeah, you be the judge. We’re just letting you know about some bullsh– thing we saw, saying this is a coded message to the Muslim world. We’re just curious citizens, wondering if we put that logo up with four Muslim flags, whether you’ll have a visceral reaction that our president is perhaps Muslim, while clearly stating our conclusion on our lower-third graphic.

And that’s where we are in our discourse. While the President is meeting with world leaders in an attempt to “enhance international cooperation to prevent nuclear terrorism”, the other side is looking at the similarities of pictures.

6 thoughts on “I’m not sayin’, I’m just sayin’

  1. Paul – while I don’t often agree with your politics, I do enjoy reading your rants about them. I was watching a back and forth yesterday or the day before on twitter. It makes an interesting diversion when I’m trying to procrastinate writing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve tended to keep my political views to my own immediate family, just because I dislike confrontation and argumentation, and I don’t want it to affect book sales. ๐Ÿ™‚ But I do enjoy watching the debate rage around me.

    • I got sucked into that twitter debate yesterday, and was shocked and surprised it ended with a laugh.

      I have posted much less of my political view here lately, but this one I had to get off my chest. And really, I wish I could go back to the time where I didn’t care about politics.

      My politics, pretty liberal, are oddly enough based on my faith. My take on Jesus was that he was a pretty liberal guy: turn the other cheek, the meek shall inherit the Earth, etc. This has shaped my world view very much.

      Thanks, as always, for the comment ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I don’t think you should go back to not caring. Caring is very important!! I admire when people know enough and care to have an opinion. I worry when people don’t.

    I should clarify that I shy away from debating online. Sometime I’ll come up to PSU for a book signing and we can debate over coffee. ๐Ÿ™‚

    My take on politics is this: most of us want the same thing. We just don’t agree on how to get to that end. And I’m proud that this country allows differing opinions. And elections. Flawed as we are, I love this country.

    My guess is that you rant because you do too. And that makes you A-OK in my book. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’m completely apathetic when it comes to politics. Not kidding, head in the sand. But.

    That discussion sounds like a blog post — I mean to say, something I might write noticing inane details. I’m not sure if this is a good thing or a bad thing, but there’s no way I would realize it was supposed to be a hydrogen atom versus elements of a Muslim flag.

    I would say that’s argument enough to explain why those 24-hour news channels don’t really have enough content to support a 24-hour format.

  4. Oh, they’re all nuts. Hate both parties. Hate that people don’t recognize other options except to call them “throwaway” votes. I’m a bit of libertarian at heart, so I’m not happy. Trying to keep from ranting on my blog lately, because I don’t want to open that flood gate. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

