Slaying a Dragon

Last Friday I quit coffee cold turkey. For the past month or so I noticed that my heart was racing quite a bit at work and I was almost certain it was because of the amount of coffee I was drinking at work. So I figured I’d just stop drinking coffee and see what happened.

The whole reason I started drinking coffee in the first place was because of the birth of my kids in 2006 and 2009. It is quite a challenge to come to work every day when I’m not well rested, especially when a baby is waking me up every two hours. Caffeine certainly helps with that. It also sends my blood pressure through the roof.

Kid number one sleeps through the night nowadays. Kid number two doesn’t, but he only wake up once or twice. Not perfect, but not terrible. Plus, having gone through kid number one, I’ve conditioned my body to be able to function on less sleep.

So far it has worked out pretty well. Not terrible headaches and I haven’t fallen asleep at my desk. I can’t say I even miss coffee. I have switched back to my pre-coffee days with decaf tea. Maybe someday I’ll switch that to water. Not this day, however. One dragon at a time.

9 thoughts on “Slaying a Dragon

  1. My problem is I don’t drink coffee to stay awake, I drink it because I love it. The caffeine doesn’t seem to affect me much, thank goodness! I’m trying to drink a bit less of it though because I know a lot isn’t good for me. I used to be a big tea drinker so like you I’m working on switching back to that. I love your comparison to slaying a dragon! Some days feel like that!

  2. Good for you — I’m with Heather, I drink it because I like the taste and the routine. I’ve cut back to half-caf, and plan to cut back to decaf altogether in the near future.

  3. Heart racing doesn’t sound good so well done you for quitting. I’ve only just started drinking coffee! Bought myself a Nespresso machine and now have a latte every morning. All thanks to George Clooney – he does their ads 🙂

  4. I actually gasped when I read the first line of your post. I can’t see a day when I will give up coffee willingly. I did have to shun it during my pregnancies but it was some sort of genetic, DNA thing going on.

    I suddenly did not like the taste of it. Maybe that was nature trying to keep the baby healthy.

    But it went away as soon as I gave birth.

  5. I quit coffee a few months ago, for pretty much the same reasons. I was always fidgetty, my heart was always racing, my stomach felt uneasy. So I quit. It was actually easy for me to do, because like you, I also switched to decaf tea. It made me feel so much better right away.

    Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

