Young Forever

Fear not where, fear not why, fear not much while we’re alive
Life is for living not living uptight
Until you’re somewhere up in the sky
Fear not die I’ll be alive for a million years
Bye byes are not for legends I’m forever young my name shall survive

Jay Z’s “Young Forever” came on my radio on my drive to work this morning. Fitting, I think, as my birthday was on Sunday. We’ll get back to that in a second, though.

Friday was a doozy of a day. Kid only got maybe three hours of sleep Thursday night and had a terrible cold. My wife took him to the doctor, and I took myself to the doctor for a sinus infection. When I got home from the doctor I got a call from my wife telling me that T-Mike was possibly going to have to stay the night in the hospital because he oxygen levels weren’t very good.  By the time I met them at the hospital, he had improved greatly thanks to a steroid shot they gave him and he was able to come home. After that, we were all exhausted and prepared for a night of little to no sleep, but amazingly he slept the night.

Saturday we had nothing planned, but my wife mentioned to me that some of the shrubs/bushes around the house needed trimming. I agreed with this, and with the go ahead to do some work outside I grabbed my little hand saw from the basement and did just that.

These particular bushes have been a nuisance for some time. Only a few of them flower, and the rest just grow. And grow. And grow. No matter how I trim, they just grow back bigger. With a maniacal look in my eye, I started to hack away, trimming them way down to the ground, and barely noticing the temperature slowly approach 90 degrees. I worked for three hours, wearing a light jacket to protect my arms from the poison ivy which is also all over our yard. It took all of my will and yes a prayer, to get my arm to do the last of the SAW SAW motion to make my last cuts. I then dropped my tools right where I was, stumbled into the house, and collapsed, exhausted, and  nearly heat fatigued. But i had won!

Sunday was my birthday. And oh yes I was sore.  I also got a ton of messages on Twitter and Facebook, breakfast (bacon and biscuits!) from my wife, and a nice card from my daughter. One of the funniest of the Facebook messages was from a classmate of mine who told me that he remembered a speech I gave the class in 5th grade about how to calculate On Base Percentage and Slugging Percentage. Hmm. I wonder why I didn’t have more dates back then?

Monday my parents, sister and her husband, and my grandfather came over and we all ate at Red Lobster. It’s tradition and was a nice time.

Maybe I don’t feel young today. Doesn’t really matter. I’m just happy to feel.

11 thoughts on “Young Forever

  1. Happy belated birthday! I know what you mean about the shrubs. I’m about to take a jug of weed killer and a hacksaw to everything in our front beds and start from scratch.

    So glad the little guy’s home and it wasn’t anything worse.

  2. Glad your little chap was OK in then end – and slept through the night – maybe he will get a taste for sleeping…

    Also glad you had a good weekend, you achieved a lot and you enjoyed yourself – happy birthday again!

  3. Happy Birthday! (Belated) (Sorry)
    I’m glad the sinus thing cleared up. Red Lobster rules! Last time I was there I gave our waitress my paperback (I was finished) of “One Night At The Lobster,” all about the employees of one that was closing, on its final night. Their biscuits are so good, and so evil.

  4. Happy belated birthday!! It sounds like it ended up good, despite the rough days before. And I’m glad your son is doing better! (and you too??)

    I love that song. At least, I loved the Rod Stewart version that came out when I was a freshman in college. It brings back great memories. I heard this version on the radio the other day. Not bad for a remake. 🙂

Leave a Reply

