Writing Drought

You know how you can see a word and just know what it is, based on what it looks like? This is how we read isn’t it? It’s not as if every time we see the word “book” we have to sound it out. We just see the word, and know what it is. Anyhow, that never works for me with the word “draught”. Which brings me to the word drought, which is quite similar to the word draught.

I’m having a bit of a drought in my writing lately, which is why I haven’t been talking about writing much. I haven’t done any writing for several months. I’m not sure exactly why I haven’t written anything, but I have theories.

For a while I was sick, and I felt like I couldn’t write because I have trouble connecting thoughts when I’m sick. Then the kid wasn’t sleeping well and I felt too tired to write. Then it was the Stanley Cup playoffs, and I was watching that instead of writing. Then we were planning our daughter’s birthday party. Then it was Doctor Who, then the new Mario game, etc.

Another thing holding me back is my desire to write a novel. How is this holding me back? Well, I get a story idea which excites me at first. Then, I start brainstorming and tell myself that the idea is no good for a novel length story. Then I abandon the idea.

I’m not really proud of the above, to be perfectly honest with you. Almost everything I’ve said above is self inflicted. I certainly don’t have to watch television at night, not do I have to give up on my ideas so easily. But really, what I need to do is just sit down with a piece of paper and a pen and just write. I know I can do this. Wish me luck!

10 thoughts on “Writing Drought

  1. Lots of luck!

    I know about the self-inflicted reasons for not writing. I am always coming up with a new one. It’s not good and it needs to stop. Turn the tv off, grab a pen and paper, and just write.

    And stop giving up on those ideas. Just because yo can’t think of something right away, doesn’t mean ideas won’t come to you in the future.

  2. It’s so hard to come back from a break. I feel your pain. I find it helps to give myself permission to write just five minutes a day. You won’t get much done, but you can say “I wrote today!” and it builds that habit again. And momentum is just about the best thing I’ve found for the writing blues. It’s like sour patch kids for writing! Ok, fine. Chocolate, then.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Writing Drought « The Struggling Writer -- Topsy.com

  4. Good advice from Michelle!
    I’m at the same point, except I’m not scolding myself over it, just flagrantly taking a break right now. You like short stories right? Maybe take one of your ideas and go at it that way. It could always be developed as a scene in your novel someday.

  5. You’ve gotten lots of good advice, which I agree with. There’s nothing that says you have to start writing novels, anyway. Write short stories if that’s where you are right now.

    Or write just a few minutes a day. Or just a page. Or a page or two a week.

    Small goals are sometimes the best.

    I went for a year without any real progress. I kicked myself every day for it. You know what? No one cares today except me.

    Until you have a publisher breathing down your neck, enjoy the freedom to write as you can, and to enjoy it. 🙂

  6. Oh, I hear you. I do the EXACT SAME THING, with the “oh, this will never be long enough for a novel so why bother?” thing.

    My latest project, I’ve found that doing a collage has actually helped me add to the story. This link has a lot of good info for how to go about collaging for inspiration: http://www.jennycrusie.com/for-writers/essays/picture-this-collage-as-prewriting-and-inspiration/

    Listening to my gut when I see something that “feels” like the story has helped a lot. I just figured out that my male lead’s real goal is to be taken seriously as a musician, just by looking at the collage and realizing, “Hey, I need a keyboard over on the right. Yes, a keyboard.” What told my I needed a keyboard? I don’t know. But once I put it in, it just looked right, and I realized that music is a lot more important to my character than I’d initially realized.

    Good luck!!

  7. Wait. Are we missing an opportunity to tell you to “Suck it up” “Give it 110%” and “You can’t sit in a chair and wiggle a pencil for an hour?”

    Or are we supposed to be nice and supportive 🙂

  8. hi there,
    i’m wishing you luck 😛

    as for a writing hiatus: i found this post very honest and practical. and i like practical and honest things before many, many other things.
    i too, have found that writing doesn’t come to me easily. at some times it does, but most of the time it does not.
    i don’t think one can force writing.
    it’s either that you have something to say and you write it down or you don’t and then you just don’t write.
    i like to feel it is this simple.
    i write when i have to – no fuss about it.
    😉

Leave a Reply

