Epic Epicness

Another music post here. Sorry about that. I’ve been blogging way more about music than I have about writing, which isn’t by design. It’s just that music is moving me more lately. Again, sorry.

Anyway, my wife and I went to see the Scott Pilgrim movie on Saturday for our anniversary. We loved it. In fact, I smiled nearly the entire time we were there.

I read Scott Pilgrim book 1 first but took a chance and gave it to my wife to read while I read book 2. I wasn’t sure whether she would like it or not, since she’s not a total nerd like me. But she loved it and was as keen as I to finish up the remaining books in anticipation of the film. We weren’t disappointed.

As good as the movie was, the soundtrack is possibly even better. I thought I’d share a few of those tracks with you now. This music is a bit different than the stuff I usually post here, but just as good.

Note that “Sex Bob-Omb” is the fictional band Scott Pilgrim plays in. They’re supposed to be high-energy but low-skill, but sound like something that would sound awesome to somebody in their 20s. I think Beck captured this feel pretty well. Metric is a real band. They are awesome.

Metric – Black Sheep

Sex Bob-Omb (Beck) – We Are Sex Bob-Omb

Sex Bob-Omb (Beck) – Garbage Truck

10 thoughts on “Epic Epicness

  1. I love this post in like 3 different ways. Some of which might be illegal.

    … don’t ask.

    Awesome books. Awesome movie. Even more awesome soundtrack!

  2. I didn’t know they were a book(s). I will definitely be checking that out. Loved the movie and can’t even imagine how that could have come from a book. It is just so visual and fast.

Leave a Reply

