Good to be Here

Thanks for all the well wishes on my last post. I think I’m finally starting to feel better. And just like every year around this time, I feel rejuvenated by the cooler weather and the changing of the leaves.

I thought of this last night as I hacked away at a shrub in the front or our yard, another one that has simply grown way out of hand this year. It’s not even really a shrub anymore. It’s some type of shrub/stupidgrowyvineweed hybrid that I just haven’t had a chance to maintain. It’s just so hard to do yard work for us right now, with the young kids in the house. Our 4-year-old isn’t too bad and could entertain herself while we work outside. Her brother, the 1 1/2 year old force of nature that has not fear, is another story. Turn your back on him for one second and he’s most likely climbed something dangerous and eaten something bad while on top.

Anyhow, as I was pulling weed after weed from this thing, trying to get to a point where I could trim the actual shrub, I looked up and the full moon and remarked to myself how nice it was to do some work outside in the cool, Pennsylvania night. This is really the best time to live in Pennsylvania. We’ve somehow survived the 90+ days and aren’t yet to the 5 degree days. Plus, the trees which we have chosen to live amongst are even now preparing their show.

I really should take some pictures of the foliage this year. It will no doubt be stunning as ever. I say this every year, but I never really do. It seems no matter how I try, my photos don’t come close to matching the beauty of the real thing. Funny, that.

8 thoughts on “Good to be Here

  1. I have some of those stupidgrowyvineweed things, too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    There are so many demands on our time, especially when our kids are young. Even so, you sound content, Paul, which is a very cool thing to be.

  2. Glad you are feeling better. I have a weed/shrub mix too. It’s driving me nuts, but I haven’t had the chance to do anything about it. We are also enjoying some cooler weather here, but they are saying it’s going to be close to 90 again in a couple of days.

  3. Paul – I’ve been such a blogging drop-out lately, but I’m here now, and sorry that you were so sick!! I’m glad you’re feeling better now.

    I love fall and these cooler days, too. It’s like new life, new energy.

    Doing anything with small kids is a struggle!! It takes 10 times the time and energy! BUT… when they get older, you can put them to work, and then it goes faster. Think of them as your little yard crew in training. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m heading up to State College this weekend for the Penn State game. First time since 1990! I’m so excited! If I were going to be there longer I’d try to meet up with you for coffee or something. I’ll have to come back and do a book signing or something. We’re talking about bringing the kids up for a basketball game this winter. Too expensive to do the football thing, but I want them to see the campus I talk about all the time. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Cool Heidi! We will have to do coffee next time for sure.

      I drove past the stadium on my way to work today. So peaceful when a game’s not going on.

      When have you been on campus last? Things have changed a lot even in the past year. On the plus side, they built a really nice and big arboretum on Park Avenue on the opposite end as the stadium. You should check that out if you get the chance. http://arboretum.psu.edu/

      On the down side, we’re losing many of our old Elm trees near Old Main due to Elm’s disease. So sad.

      Paul

  4. Oh no!! Not the elms!! That’s SOOOO sad!!!

    I was up a few years ago and couldn’t believe how much it had changed. There are a lot of new buildings, and the HUBs been redone. Even the road in front of the HUB used to be an actual road. There’s a part of going back that’s inevitably sad.

    I’ll have to check out the arboretum. Sounds fantastic!

    • I park near the Hub every day. That road is a road after 5:00. It’s pretty nice what they did with it, replacing the pavement and concrete with brick.

      Have fun at the game. I hope you have good seats. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

