My Daughter The Writer

My daughter, four years old, is a writer. In fact, she has been, at least recently anyway, much more prolific a writer than I am. Let me explain.

My daughter can’t write on her own, at least not yet. She does know how to write all of her letters and does know a few words such as “The End” which she likes to end all of her stories with. For the rest, she’ll ask my wife and I and we’ll tell her letter by letter.

So there she’ll sit at her little “Penn State” table, pencil in the left hand and paper in front. Then the craft begins. Our dialogue is as such:

Her: How do you spell “scary”
Me: S
Her: What’s the next letter after s?
Me: c

…and so on. I’m usually half listening, to be honest, as I’m usually cooking, tidying up from a meal, or playing *ahem* Donkey Kong Junior while she is writing. The fun part is when she’s finished with a story. Her little stories are pretty good.

The one that got me this weekend was a story about witches. She had an entire story about these witches, which also included Halloween, spooky, and pumpkins, I think. The interesting part was a second sheet of paper she had, which contained only the following:

The Scary Parts

She later explained to me that she had written a scary story, and the story included scary parts, but she didn’t write them down because they were too scary. In their place was the placeholder sheet, which I just mentioned. Too funny.

So yeah, my girl is a writer. I just hope she remembers me when she’s famous. I also hope she someday lets me know what was included in the scary parts, just not before bedtime. Because that would be too scary.

15 thoughts on “My Daughter The Writer

  1. Oh my. Way too cute Paul. But knowing Emma, we can just see her explaining it all. How does she think of these things. She is definitely paying attention to your conversations about writing. My oh my. We just love it.

  2. So cute! I think my daughter was about the same age when she caught the bug. She still pulls out the little books she’s written and reads them over and over to herself.

    Stock up on paper. That’s all I’m saying. πŸ™‚

  3. πŸ™‚ too cool.
    A writer with great patience, and one who can hold onto her train of thought through all the time it takes to spell out and write down each word.
    And I second the first comment, I do it too, use space holders, here is such and such scene, or here is where I describe the grounds in great detail….
    So her thinking seems very writerish to me. And I like her knowing herself, and the power of words so well, that she knows sometimes there are things it’s better not to capture with words.

Leave a Reply

