NaNoWriMo – No

Well, it is November 1st and I have officially decided against doing NaNoWriMo this year. It pains me to say this, but I think it is the right decision for me, even though I would love that 50% off Scrivener software for “winning” this year. Ah well.

The biggest reason I’m not doing NaNoWriMo this year is that I don’t have an idea for a novel. Not one idea I feel strongly enough about that I’m willing to put in the time to write it. In years past, perhaps I would have done NaNoWriMo anyhow, just to prove I can do it. I’ve been there and done that, though, and the next novel I write I want to be THE ONE. Or at least, THE ONE I finish.

So anyway, I think I’ll miss most the community and camaraderie of NaNoWriMo. I’ve met many cool writers all over the world because of NaNoWriMo. I think I’ll miss the sleeplessness the least 🙂

14 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – No

  1. I’m still going to NaNo…and the best I can muster is a short story. Every year I enter I have no intention of “winning”…just to write as much as I can, but this year, since I have a story due in the very middle of the month (for my second job), I just know even that won’t happen…so a short story it is.

  2. i have started doing it, and i am plannig to document it on my second blog (the copper moon project dot blogspot dot com) –
    as lynn said, i have no intention to win, i don’t know or care about the possible chances and conditions of winning, i don’t even have any knowledge about what can be won at all – i’m just writing 🙂 no matter what. i don’t know how i will be able do to that among all the matters i have in my hands now.
    i’ll just see.

  3. Hrumph.

    I have never had an idea going into Nanowrimo. And this year will be the year I get to 50,000 words. Considering, I’m already rushing into 2000 words, I feel pretty comfortable.

    That is all I am saying to you.

  4. Yeah, I’m not officially signed up for NaNo either, but I did start a new project today. I hope to get in 50,000 words this month, but we’ll see… What happened to the “arcade” theme you thought about? 🙂

  5. I completely understand. I wasn’t planning on doing it this year either, since I didn’t have an idea and it’s our first year homeschooling, and it felt like it just wasn’t my year. Then these people got in my head a month or two and they just won’t shut up. So, I write. But yes, I’m tired of the rambling starts and crazy rewrites on projects I’m not that interested in, so I understand completely.

    Oh, and scrivener at $40 is STILL a steal.

  6. My husband and I are both doing NaNoWriMo. I can always get the extra Scrivener software and pass it on to you.

    I don’t have a great novel idea, I am just writing to get some stuff out. Maybe I’ll come up with something in the middle of the month. But I will be winning because I do want that software!

  7. I’m doing NaNo so far, and some days it is a struggle. And I do wonder if my time wouldn’t be better spent, trying to edit other works, and gaining more skills in the craft (which I lack) rather than trying to hammer out a certain number of words, good or bad, a day.
    I don’t know. The reason I am doing it so far, is to get me back in the habit of working on my writing each day, working through blocks, and fears. I find that it is good for that. I guess I lot of people dive right in, but I agree, I couldn’t imagine doing it without a story idea.
    So I completely understand.

Leave a Reply

