Grr

My mood today is grr. It’s not you, it’s me. Well, it’s “the news” and “politics”, so I just need to get over it. It’s not so much that the Democrats lost the House yesterday. No, my disappointment is more local. As in we elected a Republican as Governor last night, at a time when Natural Gas companies are pouring into the state and drilling at will. If the Republicans have their way, these companies won’t be taxed AT ALL for the gas they extract from our lands. They talk about a balanced budget and yet reject a real source of revenue. This is not good news at all for our public schools, universities and libraries. Grr.

And yet, life is good. My wife just did an amazing job painting our living room. My daughter and son are getting smarter by the second. For me, I think I’ve finally gotten the writing bug again. I’m not sure what I want to write yet, but I do know I want to write. It’s been months since I’ve felt this way. Again, a very good thing.

What I think I’ll do is take a deep breath and just concentrate on the things I can control in my life. I find myself happier that way.

5 thoughts on “Grr

  1. I won’t rest until independents become the majority. I’m so sick of it all.

    Might I suggest morning pages? It helped get those ideas out of my head and in order when I started getting the bug after a long drought.

    There isn’t much better than a freshly painted room. 🙂

  2. Yay for the good things in life. 🙂

    As for politics and the reigning party… just wait a year and it’ll all shift again. No one getting anything done and everyone being upset just makes the tides shift that much faster. Pretty soon we’re all going to be sea sick. 🙂

  3. What state are you in? This doesn’t make any sense at all. States like NM, TX, & OK thrive on oil & gas money. The improved economic picture is usually why states trade off the ecological risk.

    • I’m in Pennsylvania. The problem is that these people don’t really care about governing. These Republicans and some Dems just want to maximize their lobbyist buddies in the gas industry profits.

Leave a Reply

