I’m Baaaack

I’ve hinted at it here, but I might as well come out and say it. I haven’t written much in a while. And by much, I pretty much mean I haven’t written anything in the past year, save for a short contest entry here and there.

Sure I have a young son in the house. But he’s 20 months old now. He goes to sleep at 8:30 each night. I have the time to write now. I just haven’t been using it. I think that about to change, though.

Last night I attended my local writer’s critique group. I haven’t been to a meeting in a year. Let’s just say it was inspiring. I cannot express how nice it was to sit in a room for a few hours and just talk about writing. It also helped to read my fellow writer’s works. They have some serious skills.

And so, I think I’m back in the game. I started work on a small piece of flash fiction last night. Baby steps, I say. I absolutely am attending my group’s meeting next month. Because, you see, I’m back. And it feels good.

11 thoughts on “I’m Baaaack

  1. Yay! That’s great! It really is hugely inspiring and motivating to get together with other writers–and saying “I’ll be there” to a critique group gives a little push of accountability, too.

    Have fun! πŸ™‚

  2. YAY!! I LOVE writer’s groups, and sitting down talking writing with people who are passionate about it. In fact, most of my memories of that are from there in State College. πŸ™‚

    I hope you find the fun in it again.

  3. I’m so glad! I think that sometimes we as writers just need a break, not necessarily from writing, but from expectation. We need other directions to go in and the opportunity to stretch new muscles, instead of the same ones, over and over again. (ya get hurt that way)
    Gald you’re back in the game and back to writers group…I love my group.
    Happy writing or not writing to you Struggling. : )

Leave a Reply

