So I’m Writing a Picture Book

So I’m writing a picture book. I have no idea how to write a picture book, mind you, but I’m doing it. I sure have read a lot of picture books lately, though, as my kids are 1.5 and 4.5 years old. So I have that going for me, which is nice (said in my Bill Murray from Caddy Shack voice). The cool thing, though is how I came up with the idea.

We were sitting at the dinner table last night, tired from our trip to Philly area. I had just decided to skip my hockey game to help my wife with the kids (she looked exhausted) and was mentioning that my writing group meeting was next Monday. Here is some dialog between my daughter and I:

Daughter: Do you write at your writing group?
Me: (Pause) No, we talk about writing.
Daughter: Do you get to pick what you want to write about? (this is important to her, as she’s still miffed that my wife wasn’t able to choose what she painted on the community mural she worked on)
Me: Oh yeah, I can write about anything you want.
Daughter: What are some of your stories, Daddy?
Me: (another long pause trying to remember my stories. I haven’t written in a while): Well, there’s … and … and …
Daughter: Oh…

At this point I realized it really had been a while since I wrote anything. I also realized I was losing her. And so I started telling her a story, just off the top of my head. And you know what? The more I think about it, the more I think this would make a cute picture book.

Anyway, you never know where your writing ideas will come from or when. You just need to be ready to capture them when they do. This is the lesson for today. 🙂

5 thoughts on “So I’m Writing a Picture Book

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention So I’m Writing a Picture Book « The Struggling Writer -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

