A Look Back

So it’s January 5th, and you’ve no doubt already read your fill of “year that was” posts, but here I am writing another of those. Cause I’m just that cool.

On the blogging and writing front, I have to say 2010 was a huge and utter fail. I lost major blogging steam and I wrote almost no fiction. It’s pretty obvious that the two go together. I mean, this blog is supposed to be about writing and if I’m not writing there isn’t much to blog about.

The question, of course, is why didn’t I do any writing this past year? Some of it can be chalked up to having a kid in the house that at the beginning of the year was just learning to walk and not even close to sleeping through the night. While that is a convenient excuse, it certainly should not be used to explain away why I got no writing done. Really, I didn’t write because I didn’t write. It’s all on me. Same with the blogging. It’s much easier to surf the net and watch television than it is to write. I let the easy way win too much last year.

My Grandfather has had some major issues this year but made it through fighting. That was the biggest down of the year, for sure. Here’s praying 2011 is better for him. Other than that, LIFE has been pretty good. It sure was nice to take another trip around our great yellow star.

On the parenting/life front, 2010 was a pretty great success. My son is now sleeping through the night almost every night (don’t ask about 1:30 – 4:00 AM last night) and coming up with a new word nearly every day. He’s also developing quite a personality, that one.

My daughter is in her second year of pre-school, with Kindergarten just ’round the corner. It’s nearly unbelievable, to be honest. From all accounts she seems to be a great help at school and also a good friend to her classmates. She also already knows how to read. And she has an amazing imagination and curiosity about her that I can only hope to help her cultivate.

Going forward, I hope to get more sleep, do more writing and blogging, and take another trip around our star. I hope you all will join me 🙂

10 thoughts on “A Look Back

Leave a Reply

