Not A Winner

Well, I didn’t win the writing contest over at The Clarity of Night. I didn’t place either. However, my entry was a member of the “Forties Club”, meaning I scored at least 40 out of 45 points on his scoring system. That was nice. And really, it’s no big deal to me either way if a won or not. It would’ve been nice to get the prize money, because I have some books I’d like to buy. Other than that, I’m okay with not winning.

Besides, I’m happy with the entry I submitted. It came out almost exactly how it was in my head when I got the idea for the story. That’s pretty rare with me.

5 thoughts on “Not A Winner

  1. I can’t believe you didn’t even get top 5 or an honourable mention! Your story was awesome. You had my vote anyway. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks man πŸ™‚

      A couple things about it. Things like this are subjective, and are up to the tastes of those scoring the results. Second, I’m not sure my writing matches up exactly with his taste in writing. Both of these things are fine with me. The fact that my entry scored well in his scoring system is good enough for me. Although, again, the amazon gift card would’ve been nice πŸ™‚

      • Both very good points, my fiancee said the exact same thing when i told her. Also, if we both scored 40 then we must have been close! There’s always next time. πŸ™‚

  2. Paul, i guess Jason’s scoring system is really tough, i mean, he doesn’t give points for nothing πŸ™‚
    if you made it to the Forties Club, that is a serious achievement. and yes, i voted for your story .)) i liked it!!

    my entry however, did not make it, but the cultural differences and the obviously present language barrier kind of obliged me not to make into the Forties, let alone higher.
    i found lots of great entries and it entertained me for at least two weeks (writing, reading and voting… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

