The Deep End – Flash Fiction

My entry in the Lascaux Flash Fiction contest is now posted. Mine is entry number 109, titled The Deep End. If you get a moment, why not head over there and give it a read. Heck, even leave a comment. It’s free.

I’ve gotta say this one was a heck of a lot of fun to write. It’s inspired greatly by my 6 1/2 year old daughter, who is at a stage in her life where self-preserving fear is at a minimum, but who also is smart enough to understand what is going on in a black hole.

I don’t expect to win this contest, seeing as how there are 100+ entries. Mine isn’t the type of writing that usually wins these types of things. It would be awesome if I did. I’d love to buy myself a cheap little laptop I could write on when my kids are hogging my computer.

Peace.

2 thoughts on “The Deep End – Flash Fiction

  1. I liked the story very much Paul. You really nailed the child’s inner voice. Having a daughter will no doubt help with that, but you still have to put it into words, and you did a great job. Also, you could always use the prize money to buy the kids their own computer…

    Good Luck!

    Thomas

    • Thank you Thomas. This was a lot of fun to write and I’m happy with the results.

      As for the computer, I’m looking for a stripped down, lightweight one that I’d use for writing only. If I don’t win this contest, I’ll probably just replace the motherboard on an old laptop I have.

Leave a Reply

