Novel Synopsis

So, I guess if you ever finish writing a novel and are shopping it around, you need to write a synopsis of the story. I wouldn’t know about finishing a novel though…

However, I came across this technique after following a link from WriteWorld that seems like it might be good as a novel planning exercise as well. In fact, I might even give it a go. I have posted an excerpt here and if it sounds appealing, why not head over and read the full article?

via How To Write A 1-Page Synopsis.

One thing writers hate doing but will inevitably have to do (one day or another, at least) is the Dreaded Synopsis. An agent may request it in his/her submission materials, or an editor might want it once your agent has you out on subs. My film agent needed it for shopping around Something Strange & Deadly, and I would imagine other rights-agents would want a short, simple synopsis for the same reason.

So in other words: you have to learn to do this. You need it before you’re published, and you’ll certainly need it afterwards. Specifically, you’ll need to be able to write the 1 or 2-page synopsis.

But Sooz, you say. It’s hard to boil my whole ingenious novel into a few key sentences.  To convey the depth, the emotion, the literary power of your novel in 500 words or less–impossible!

Ah, but is possible my friends.  It’s possible and can even be fun (if you enjoy mental torture like me).  To learn how to write a short synopsis, I took workshops, read books, and wrote a few drafts until I had a gleaming 1-page book summary.  And after all that practice, I realized I had my own method (built from the methods of my various teachers, of course), and I’m sharing that method with you here.

Click to read the rest of the article: How To Write A 1-Page Synopsis

4 thoughts on “Novel Synopsis

      • 🙂 I shall inform my Concept artist friend Michi… he’ll be delighted! Now, really, I have to be concerned about the published novel The Annwyn Secret which has been selected for a script writing… and THAT is exciting! 🙂 c

Leave a Reply

