Old Man Back

“Well, um, actually a pretty nice little Saturday, we’re going to go to Home Depot. Yeah, buy some wallpaper, maybe get some flooring, stuff like that. Maybe Bed, Bath, & Beyond, I don’t know, I don’t know if we’ll have enough time”

I had a pretty nice little weekend, thanks for asking. I got a bit of sled riding done with my son on the epic hill we have near our house. We got about seven pretty good runs in (this was after I had shoveled snow for a half hour and that hill is steep — when I’m rich I’m gonna install a chair lift there). I also played a crap-litre (why is crap always measured by the ton in pop culture?) of Minecraft with both kids, which I realize isn’t great but they make some pretty creative stuff there and Minecraft has also helped the 5 year old learn to read many words he would have never seen in See Spot Run. And yep, we got to the Home Improvement store, though we went to Lowes not Home Depot like Frank The Tank (above).

And I tweaked my back quite good at Lowes, lifting a roll of carpet from an awkward position. Crap. I’d had hoped the old man back had properly healed itself, but I guess that was a miscalculation.

You see, late last year I had been dealing with quite a bit of back pain, bad enough I got almost no writing done and was having trouble concentrating at work. Eventually I realized the pain was self-imposed from trying to work myself back into shape again. I had decided it was time to work this old body back into shape and return to when I was in high school when I’d do 200 or 300 push-ups a day usually during commercials watching television or just whenever. I was a skinny bastard back then but didn’t have access to real weights and wouldn’t know until I got to college what to do with the weights even if I had them. I mean, it can’t be much cheaper or easier to use your own body weight to put on some muscle.

And it went well at first. I felt great. I was seeing “results” almost immediately. But then the back pain started. Worse, it took me like 2 months to realize the push-ups were the cause. But even if I knew the problem, I almost kept doing the push-ups because it was so much easier than lugging my weights around in the basement. But the pain was too much.

So, yeah, the back hurts a bit this morning. Especially because I had to shovel again today. But overall, it was a nice little weekend.

2 thoughts on “Old Man Back

Leave a Reply

