My Little Reader


My daughter is 8 years old. She’s been reading books since she was 4 years old. She devoured the Harry Potter series when she was in 2nd grade. Some of her most frantic moments before heading to school is to make sure she gets whatever book she is currently reading into her backpack before heading out to the bus. Of course there was the time I warned her about Dumbledore but she read that part in school and cried anyway. But we all did.

The girl reads a lot. Books follow her throughout the house. The often make their way to the breakfast/lunch/dinner table where she gets “in trouble” for reading instead of eating. But I’m not too hard on her when this happens and we usually just let her read anyway. Especially, I’ve found no way to actually remove girl from book. I think that is part of one of Newton’s Laws of Physics.

One of the things I like to do during my lunchtime at work is to walk over to the local library and pick up some books for her. One of the recent series I’ve been getting for her is a graphic novel series called Amulet. I’ve not read the series yet, but I love the artwork and have heard good things. All I know is I brought her 3 of the books home last night and she had them done before bedtime.

She and I have our battles, of course. Parents tend to gloss over those moments, but we have them. But, overall, I’m proud to have a little reader and can’t wait to introduce her to so many more books in her lifetime (and her brother too, who is 5 and very much starting to read, thanks in small part to the game Minecraft, but that is a topic for another day).

One thought on “My Little Reader

Leave a Reply

