The A-ha Moment

I’m home sick today with a head cold. Which is a pain in the butt but could be worse. On the plus side, I had an excellent writing critique group meeting last night.

I submitted a chapter of the novel I’m writing to be critiqued, and it was well received. However, a question was raised. It was a simple one. What does your main character want? What is his main motivation? Because the motivation here just isn’t quite enough.

And there at the meeting I had a bit of an a-ha moment of how to raise the stakes of the story while keeping my novel premise. And I also feel like this added motivation is enough to motivate me to press on and finish this story. Once I feel better, of course.

4 thoughts on “The A-ha Moment

  1. No fun using a sick day to be sick. I like to use sick days to get the demons out of my head and onto the page. Hey, I guess it really is a sickness.

  2. That’s awesome! I love a-ha moments. I just need a few more of them for my novel and then maybe I can get it finished…Hope you feel better soon! Colds are the worst. I’ve got one myself at the moment, but I get more rest at work, so I went in anyway. :/

Leave a Reply

