Things The Kids Said This Weekend That Made Me Happy

im_beginning_to_think_that_homer_simpson_was_not_the_brilliant_tactician_i_thought_he_was

It was a pretty good weekend. We didn’t have to travel anywhere, which is always nice. Sunday, after church we headed out to the rollerskating rink because the son really wanted to and it to be honest they needed to be out of the house for a bit. Here are a couple things the kids said that made me happy.

The daughter said:

“I just want to stay home and play video games all day.”

Why this made me happy:

I suppose it sounds odd, doesn’t it, that I’d be happy that my daughter would want to stay home and play video game all day. However, this girl reads. A lot. Like always has a book in her hand. And so, I think she can spare a day to just play a game she likes. Also, the game is Pokemon Ruby. It’s not Halo or anything like that. It requires her to problem solve and use her brain. And also, she still runs to her Pokemon book to read while she plays.

Also, I want my kids to enjoy some of the things I used to enjoy. And I hadn’t really found a game she could excel at before Pokemon. It makes me happy.

The son said:

“Bacon”

Why this made me happy:

It was in response to my question:”What would you like me to make for dinner?” What can I say, the kid likes bacon as much as I do.

This of course led to the discussion of the source of bacon: piggies (don’t even mention that vile, disgusting turkey bacon to me) and also the discussion of how it’s better to just not think about the source of bacon.

The daughter for her part chose fruit, so she made up a lovely fruit salad for us to enjoy along with our bacon.

So yeah, it was a good time. Is it next Friday, yet?

 

2 thoughts on “Things The Kids Said This Weekend That Made Me Happy

Leave a Reply

