Walkman

airhurtsface
Source?

The temperature hit a scorching 50 degrees Fahrenheit (10 C) at lunchtime today, so I got my butt out there for a walk. Dude, it felt so nice!

Let me first say I live in the Northeast United States by choice. I don’t have to live here, but I do. I like it here. And I LOVE having seasons. I love the cold of Winter and the warm of Spring and everything in between. But at the edges, those seasons do take their toll. And as I get older more mature, I’m noticing those edges a bit more. -10 degree cold and 100 degree heat, I’m looking at you.

So yeah, it was really nice to get out in the fresh air. And it really only took about 5 minutes for me to feel an energy boost from being outside. It’s that same feeling you get when your favorite song from when you were young comes on the radiocomes on your iPod. Just an instant rush of emotions. Thoughts of outdoor barbecues, just chilling on the porch, throwing some baseballs at to the kids. Stuff like that. These are things I hadn’t though of in months, hadn’t realized I missed, but am so glad I’ll get to do soon.

I guess there is no real point to this post other than to say, don’t forget to go outside sometime and just walk around with no real purpose. Just be in your thoughts. Just look around. Hear the birds and sniff the flowers and all that crap. It’s good for ya.

4 thoughts on “Walkman

  1. My life in the Midwest is partly choice, partly necessity, but even if I could live elsewhere, I don’t think I would. I love the people here, I love the seasons here (even though I moan constantly about winter and – to a lesser extent – summer), I love the wide-openness of everything from hearts and minds to landscapes.

    We haven’t yet hit the scorching 50° mark here, but I’m hopeful that we will over the weekend. I can’t wait to start driving with the windows down again. Then all I’ll have to do is pop “Ice, Ice, Baby” into my car’s CD player, and I’ll be able to imagine myself back in high school, cruising the loop with my friends. 🙂

Leave a Reply

