Free Fallin’

tumblr_o04s49rVex1sfie3io1_1280
View of Turkey from the ISS Cupola

I didn’t accomplish much this weekend. That’s not a big deal, though, because rarely is my weekend goal to accomplish anything. My weekend goal is usually to not be at work, and do stuff that I cannot do while at work.  I have an almost perfect record in accomplishing this.

I did accomplish a few things. I put a back on a wooden shelving unit I build to display my old gaming systems (NES, Super Nintendo, N64, Atari 2600, etc). It needed it for the simple purpose of hiding the tangle of power cords it was distractedly showcasing. It just looked bad. Of course while I had all these systems just lying about on the floor my son asked to play Mike Tyson’t Punchout and Duck Hunk on the NES. I couldn’t say no, of course, so this little carpentry job took longer than it should have.

I also changed a bulb in our garage I had been meaning for some time to change.  And having accomplished this miraculous feat (it only took 1 of me to change this bulb) I got cocky and used the bar stool I was standing on to peek into a cupboard of ours. And promptly fell off the thing. Surprisingly, I didn’t injure myself that much. I think if ice hockey taught me anything it was how to fall without breaking anything of importance.

I was not able to accomplish any writing, which is a bummer. I was able to do a little bit of reading, currently working through the book
Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy: Four Women Undercover in the Civil War, which is quite enjoyable and will write about more at another time.

Onward to Monday, I suppose.

4 thoughts on “Free Fallin’

  1. Oh man, my weekend was the same. No writing but lots of ‘around the house’ stuff that needed doing. I like your attitude toward it though, I need to beat myself up a little less about accomplishing nothing on the weekend(s).

  2. I have noticed that when I want to set aside a big chunk of time to write, suddenly I start getting a lot of chores done around the house. And vice versa.

Leave a Reply

