Book Recommendation: The Postmortal

I was up till midnight finishing a book I was reading, The Postmortal, and then up a couple hours after that just processing my feelings. If you like speculative fiction, and post-apocalyptic stuff, I recommend it. Here’s the review I posted on my Goodreads:

This is one of the best books I’ve read in a while. It’s speculative fiction. What would happen if there was suddenly a cure for aging. Like, you could never die from old age. People still die, from murder, illness, etc., but not old age. And not only that, but your appearance doesn’t change from the moment you receive the cure. So, people 100 years old walking around looking 25.

And it’s pretty bleak, to be honest. But never not entertaining. It’s well written and the protagonist is like-able.

But what happens to things such as marriage when you’re talking about a 200 year lifetime rather than an 80 year one? Can the planet sustain an undying population? And with the need for money (no cure for capitalism) and you live indefinitely, could you ever retire?

These are some of the themes in the book. It is worth your time, in my opinion.

Anyhow, it’s a good book. Let me know if you read it and what you think.

Leave a Reply

