NaNoWriMo 2011

At this point, it’s been so long I’ve posted here I doubt I have any readers left. I still keep in touch with some of you on Facebook or Twitter, which is cool, but I still miss this place.

Most of the comments I do get still from time to time, are past posts regarding National Novel Writing Month. Another big post is my “Novel Planning for Pantsers” post. Amazingly, if you look up the word “pantser” on Google, that post is the first search result.

I’m writing this post about NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). It starts next week. It’s like the writer holiday season. I will not be joining in this year. This pains me, but is for the best.

My favorite part of NaNoWriMo is the community. I have met so many other writers through NaNoWriMo. I love that we’re all in it together feeling. I even “won” NaNoWriMo a few times. I still don’t have a “complete” novel though. And that’s why I’m not doing it this year.

You see, I’m two chapters into a novel right now. They are two pretty goo chapters though. My pace has been glacial, but I haven’t scrapped it yet. I’m going to stick to that for now.

You see, since I don’t really work from an outline I do a bunch of writing, then I think about it for a while, then the next bit comes to me, then I write. NaNoWriMo short circuits that I think.

So, good luck to the NaNoWriMo class of 2011. Have great fun with it. I know I’ll miss it. But it’s better this way.

17 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2011

  1. Hey, glad to hear you’re still banging away on the keyboard. Got to keep at it! On the topic of NaNoWriMo, it has always fascinated me but with my little girl keeping me very busy I doubt I could hit the target in one month. Like you, SW, I tend to write a bit, think for a while then write a bit more. Can’t rush these things!

    P.S. I’ve recently submitted four short stories to magazines! This is my first time so I won’t be too bummed when the rejection slips come in. I’m just glad I finally did it! Good luck with your writing SW, and let us know when your first draft is done!

    Thomas.

  2. I think NaNo is a great opportunity for some people, but it’s never worked for me, I just don’t write that way. I do admire people who can do it, though.

    Good for you for looking at what works for you rather than jumping on a bandwagon just to be on there.

  3. Pingback: NaNoWriMo and fear of commitment? | Living Life in Colour

  4. Pingback: What I learned through NaNoWriMo | Create The World You Want

  5. Pingback: Catching Up, Clocking Off | Mushy Cloud

  6. Pingback: National Novel Writing Month « Zombies Vampires and other Freaks

  7. Pingback: Boo hooo :*( « Smokebear

  8. Pingback: 24 Hours until All Heck Breaks Loose?! “Beautiful Torture” Or @NaNoWriMo.org here I come! #amreading #NaNoWriMo | The Literary World of Sylvia Hubbard

    • Not a wuss. Just realistic 🙂 My biggest advice is to not fall behind early. It’s very hard to make up a deficit. Build a nice cushion of words for the days when it isn’t happening. Good luck!

  9. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Has Begun! « Jan Simson – Inspiration Avenue

  10. Pingback: en deshabille

  11. Pingback: La Revanche des Trois (The Revenge of Three) Chapter 2.2 #nanowrimo.org #WIP wc 3601 | The Literary World of Sylvia Hubbard

  12. Pingback: I must be having Fun, Cause Time sure does Fly! « Noreen's space

  13. wow, i somehow missed this post completely.
    i see your points for not doing NaNo this year.
    i was hesitating, but now, at the 11th November and my words stats still at nil, i don’t have any more fake dreams.
    i did my job in 2010, because i had an idea that kept me nudging from the inside.
    now it’s different.
    🙂

Leave a comment