Buy Local – It’s Worth It

In the town I live in, we have a great toy store, Pure Imagination Toys, in our downtown area. It’s a great store filled with toys any kid would love, as well as some novelty toys such as the William Shakespeare Action Figure and Librarian Action FigureLibrarian Action Figure. They also have classic toys such as Chatter Telephone, Snoopy Sno-Cone Machine, and Slinky Dog. They have toys there that you just won’t find in the big box shops. I love going to the toy store nearly as much as my daughter. The best part, though, is the service you get from the owners of the shop, who also work the cash registers. Let me explain.

My parents bought my daughter a toy baby grand piano for Christmas from the toy store. Here is a picture:

grandpianosmall.jpg

She loved playing it so much. She pushed the keys and sang songs. Unfortunately, there was something wrong with it and it would tip over if she leaned on it. My wife called the toy store and told them we were going to return the piano. Even though we no longer had the box it came in, they agreed to give us credit.

The problem was that the legs were not at the right points to support the piano’s weight. They needed to be at the corners. When we returned the piano, the owner said he would try to modify it to put the legs in the right place, and would still give us some of our money back. He was going to give us a call when he was finished.

Anyhow, we got a call last night that they had called the company for us and they had a brand new piano for us that was not defective. I picked it up last night. My daughter was so happy!  When I walked in the house with the piano my daughter said “Dadda fixed it!” and “Dadda did it!” with her hands raised high in the air.

Anyhow, my point here was that these guys went out of their way to make sure that not only were my wife and I happy, but our daughter was as well (they really wanted her to have a piano). You just don’t get this type of treatment at the big stores.

Anyhow, I try to shop at the locally owned places. Sometimes it is more convenient to shop at the big stores, and it is certainly cheaper. However, when possible I buy my goods at the small places, because if they go out of business they always get replaced by some stupid cell phone store or bank. Happens every time.

10 thoughts on “Buy Local – It’s Worth It

  1. You had me at the words ‘William Shakespeare Action Figure’ and ‘Librarian Action Figure’! What!!!! I love it! Who would think of such things?!

    The tag line in the article about swans over which I quote at my latest post said ‘No swans, no Shakespeare’. (Quills were made from swans feathers) We almost had a moment of synchronicity if I had both posted about William – I wish I had included it now….

    Exemplary service indeed – I love it. And would love to see your little girl playing the piano – how cute must that be?

  2. Diane – we will have to try synchronicity another time 🙂 My daughter does look so adorable playing the piano. I have looked through all the pictures we just downloaded from our digital camera for something to post here, and there are so many of her I could post. I just don’t want to overdo it. She is just so adorable (I’m slightly biased)

  3. or an Eckerd drug store.

    That is great, how helpful they were, and that your daughter has her piano back. (and that she gives you credit as WonderDaddy who can fix it and make it better).

    Slightly different but same idea of buying local. We pass a turkey farm regularly and are always surprised to not find these turkeys in our local grocery stores. We make regular stops at local dairies and farmers markets (but at times, regular is only once a month, because I admit, it is easier to shop at the bigger grocery stores, where we can find everything we need. But the farmers markets are more fun.

  4. I want that Shakespeare action figure…

    I always try to shop and eat at locally owned shops, when I can. It’s not always cheaper, but it certainly feels better to support a local.

  5. What a nice piano! And what a great service!
    I’ve always found that these local small toy stores also carry much more interesting stuff than the big chain stores. I’d love to see those action figures… 🙂

Leave a Reply

