I Just Wrote The Greatest Story Ever

Well, last night I wrote the greatest story of all time. This was the big one. My ticket to fame and fortune. My name of the spine of a book in the bookstore.

Hold up.

I didn’t quite write the greatest story of all time.  Yeah I wrote a story, and yeah it was very good. The problem was I got the idea while I was mowing the lawn and I wrote the entire thing in my head.  I’m having a bit of trouble getting it out of my head and onto paper.

Yeah, so I finished mowing the lawn, repeating my story over and over again in my mind, trying desperately to remember it.  When I finished it was into the house for a quick shower, still trying to remember. Then I had to get the baby to sleep while my wife read to the daughter. The baby wouldn’t sleep, so I took him for a stroll. I think here is where the story started to leak out of my ears. It was such a gorgeous night, not to hot, not too cold. One of those breathe a deep breath and let the air circulate in your lungs nights.

Finally, I returned home, put the little guy in the crib, and started to transcribe my masterpiece. Only it just wasn’t the same. How heartbreaking. I guess I’ll have to become rich and famous another day.

Still, I got some of the story written. Maybe, just maybe I’ll be able to get it back. Maybe if I retrace my steps, I’ll be able to find it. Hopefully no dogs will poop on it before then.

14 thoughts on “I Just Wrote The Greatest Story Ever

  1. Erg! I hate it when that happens. I was at my son’s ortho appointment last week and wrote a whole chapter in my head, but I forgot most of it by the time I got home. Maybe it will come back to you when you are where you can type it out!

  2. I know the feeling exactly! How frustrating!!

    The great thing is, there are still stories in your head. If there was this one, there will be another. Maybe even better.

    I know, hard to believe. But it’s true. 🙂

  3. Man that is the worst! Could you have jotted down keywords after mowing but before the shower? Oh! Maybe next time you could use your cell phone to call your home phone and leave a voice mail message with the details.

    Good luck remembering.

Leave a comment