Running on Empty

First of all, I feel like a zombie. And not in a good way. The baby, who I’ve been bragging for five months about due to his mad sleeping skills, has started to wake up every two hour at night. This is not fun at all. I’m exhausted and can only imagine how tired my wife feels. She’s the one who has to feed the little guy at night and watch him and the 3 year old during the day. I wish I could plug myself into the wall to recharge.

Speaking of recharging, there has been some news the last couple days regarding electric cars. Yesterday was news of the Chevy Volt, an electric car that GM claims will get 230 miles per gallon. Dude! The downside to that is the $40,000 initial price tag. Ouch.

Today, comes word of the Nissan Leaf, and a claimed 367 miles-per-gallon. With that is the claim of affordability – around $24,000. I would trade my beloved Element for that in a heartbeat. We’ll see if it actually happens. Above, I’ve posted a little video of the Nissan Leaf. Sounds pretty cool, if you ask me.

10 thoughts on “Running on Empty

  1. Sorry about the lack of sleep. My sister has a good sleeper too, and now that she’s hit 4 months she’s starting to wake up a lot just like that. Mine? I swear they were both born teething.

    I saw something the other day about the new electric cars, and it looks like it’ll still work out a while to work out the kinks. I think one takes 23 hrs to charge the tank. Great for short trips or if you can find a charging station or battery swap service. If. But forget taking one on a long trip. Oh, and I think that ridiculous mileage only happens if you never go over 40mph. Still, I’m thrilled people are talking electric again. Ever see the documentary Who Killed the Electric Car? I’ve only seen clips, but it looks pretty interesting.

    • Michelle – Our first was “born teething”.

      Also, from what I’ve read about these, things are better than that. Both go over 100 miles on a single charge. So I could drive the 20 miles a day to and from work, plug it in at night, and never come close to having to wait 23 hours to charge because I wouldn’t need a full charge.

  2. The fuel economy figures don’t account for the cost of electricity to charge the battery. It only considers the fuel that’s used in the gasoline engine. Don’t forget about the higher electric utility bill. I suspect that even with that, the fuel PLUS electrical usage will be economical.

    However, it’s never economical to buy a new car for fuel economy reasons unless it’s time to buy a new car anyway.

    I generally drive vehicles until they’re about to fall apart so I won’t be giving up my 18 mpg 2006 truck any time soon.

  3. I don’t miss those days of getting up every two hours.

    About the car, I think I have to stick with my gigantic gas guzzler for now given the amount of children I’m typically carting around and all the sports equipment that comes with them, but I see a small car in the future. Perhaps they will have perfected the electric ones by then.

Leave a Reply

